Results Are In!

I’m about 3 weeks into Flavia Del Monte’s program Curvalicious Fitness and let me tell you. Wow. I have never been so glad I bought something before!

I have been weight training for the past two years now, and started to plateau after a year or so. I have always had a problem with how bulky my thighs were, how my shoulders weren’t built enough, and how my butt was shaped. I would do squats on squats on squats and find that they only built my legs more and my butt wasn’t growing enough to compensate! It was so frustrating.

First I thought I wasn’t doing enough cardio, so I would do long and steady jogging, intervals, I would try different machines, but nothing was giving me the real results I wanted.

Next I blamed genetics. My mom has the same kind of lower half as I naturally had, so I thought thin thighs and a bubble butt was out of the question for me.

Finally I bought Curvalicious Fitness. Honestly, I didn’t really believe anything would change for me, but I thought it wouldn’t hurt to try. What I realized was that I had been working my legs out like a male would, training for bulk, instead of how a female should, aiming to tone thighs and build glutes. (Duh! Can’t believe I hadn’t thought of that before!) Why would you use heavy weights on muscles you want to tone and areas you just want to lose fat from? I had always thought that less weight = less results, when now I see that you have to know when to have less weight and when to have more.

This is what I learned:

  1. Split leg/butt day into 2 days. Make one day a quads and calves day, and the other glutes and hamstrings.
  2. On quads/calves day, use lighter weights with an emphasis on plyometrics
  3. On glutes/hamstrings day, use heavy weights with only some plyometrics
  4. Always do circuits (especially for lower body workouts. It burns more fat and calories)

Since glutes and hamstrings are slow-twitch muscles, they respond better to heavy weights. For our quads, however, we don’t necessarily want them so built (unless you naturally have really thin thighs and want them bigger), so we use lighter weight combined with plyometrics (i.e. anything like box jumps, squat jumps, Russian hops, etc.)

After following this program for a week, I measured the widest part of my thighs to track my progress. I am happy to announce that barely two weeks later, that measurement dropped half an inch! Now that may not seem like too much to you, but for me that is a milestone! I can already tell they look more shapely and toned, and I still haven’t done a FULL workout all the way through, so I still have room to improve.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress, but in the meantime, I’d love to hear below a time you reached a milestone goal, no matter how small, and what changes you made to get there!

For some of the workouts I have been doing, here is Better Than The Brazilian Butt Lift.

And for those lean thighs that will soon be yours…

2 thoughts on “Results Are In!

  1. Pingback: Who put all these bones in my butt? | Thick Chick Fitness Blog

  2. Pingback: My thighs are on FIRE! | Thick Chick Fitness Blog

Leave a Reply

